Rochester Music Hall of Fame inductees announced

Rochester Music Hall of Fame Class of 2016 announced

Rochester, N.Y. - The 2016 class of inductees into the Rochester Music Hall of Fame were announced Wednesday.

The inductees are punk rocker Wendy O. Williams of The Plasmatics; James Rado, creator of the musical "Hair", Pee Wee Ellis, saxophonist and musical director for Van Morrison and James Brown; The Rustix, a Rochester-born soul group; vibraphonist Joe Locke; and composer and Eastman School of Music director Howard Hanson.

"We are all very excited," said Karl Laporta, chairman of the Rochester Music Hall of Fame. "This year's inductees to the Rochester Music Hall of Fame are the most musically diverse in a single induction class, spanning many genres from classical music, to funk and blues and from music theater to rock and roll and even punk rock."

The Class of 2016 will be celebrated this spring at Eastman Theatre's Kodak Hall.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off