Michael Keaton to be honored with George Eastman Award

Photo: MGN

Rochester, N.Y. - Actor Michael Keaton will be honored with the George Eastman Award for his contribution to the art of film.

The award, given out by the George Eastman Museum, is the museum's highest honor in motion pictures.

"We are honored to present Michael Keaton with the George Eastman Award," said Bruce Barnes, Ron and Donna Fielding Director, George Eastman Museum. "From the beginning of his career to his current projects, Keaton's contributions to the art of cinema have established him as a strong and versatile actor, and we look forward to introducing him to the George Eastman Museum."

Keaton has starred in films such as, "Night Shift" (1982), "Beetlejuice" (1988), "Batman Returns" (1992) and "Much Ado About Nothing" (1993). He most recently starred in the Academy Award winning films "Birdman" (2014) and "Spotlight" (2015).

Keaton won the Golden Globe for best performance by an actor for "Birdman" and was nominated for an Academy Award for the same role.

Keaton will receive the award at a ceremony at the Dryden Theatre on June 9.

The event is open to the public. Ticket prices begin at $100 and will go on sale May 5.

Advanced ticket sales for museum members start April 27.

For more information visit the George Eastman Museum website.

Previous recipients of the George Eastman Award are Charles Chaplin, Joan Crawford, Audrey Hepburn, Gregory Peck, Martin Scorsese, James Stewart, Meryl Streep and Michael Douglas.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off