Most Shared

WHAM13 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

State of Emergency declared for storm-affected regions

Albany, N.Y. -- Gov. Andrew Cuomo has declared a state of emergency for a plethora of counties affected by the latest winter storm.

This includes Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Wayne and Wyoming counties. The National Weather Service declared a blizzard warning for these counties.

Under a state of emergency, critical resources normally restricted to state use are mobilized to assist local governments and laws and regulations that would otherwise impede their rapid response are suspended.

Steps taken to ensure readiness on the roadways include:

*Activating 1,794 plows, 306 front loaders and 4,185 operators in affected regions.

*Keeping 406,500 tons of road salt on hand for the areas in the path of the storm.

*The Thruway Authority has banned long tandem trailers from Exit 25A (I-88) to the Pennsylvania state line.

*All Thruway and New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) maintenance headquarters will be fully staffed around the clock for the duration of the storm.

Advertise with us!


Washington Times