WHAM13 - Search Results
Assault weapons deadline Tuesday
Rochester, N.Y. -- Tuesday is the deadline to register an assault weapon under the NY SAFE Act.
Thousands protested the NY SAFE Act in Albany at the beginning of the month. Opponents claim it's a violation of their second amendment rights.
"You know when people started to ask me for my cell phone and if I would answer it at night and do I know how to make bail, people really are trying to understand what will happen to them if they do their best to try to comply and they get caught on the backside of an arrest," said attorney Paloma Capanna, who is representing a number of pro-gun groups in Western New York. "They really created a bit of a mess for the ordinary gun owner to understand."
All guns that fall under the definition of an assault weapon must be registered with the state, and according to the NY SAFE Act website, that registration must be renewed every five years.
New York State Assemblyman Bill Nojay has been active in trying to get the SAFE Act repealed. He said he believes the law is more about politics than safety.
"The SAFE Act is not effective," he said. "It does not meet its goals and the compliance rate we're expecting will be under 10 percent."
But Gov. Andrew Cuomo has continued to support the law he said he passed for safety.
As far as law enforcement, both the Ontario and Livingston county sheriff's offices said they'll abide by the law but won't actively look for violations.
"It's strictly case by case," said Livingston County Sgt. Matt Orman. "If it comes to us and there's clearly an infraction, our higher ups will discuss it with the DA's office and it will be addressed from there."
According to the New York SAFE Act website, if an assault weapon is not registered by Tuesday, it's a class a misdemeanor and the weapon must be turned over to law enforcement. However, if an assault weapon is not registered and it's deemed to be unintentional, there will be a 30-day amnesty period to register the weapon.