Most Shared

WHAM13 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Upstate NY counties get FEMA help

New York The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved New York States request for federal support in areas that have been effected by severe weather and flooding, Senators Schumer and Gillibrand announced Tuesday.

The Major Disaster Declaration was for 11 counties across New York, including: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Delaware, Herkimer, Lewis, Livingston, Ontario, Ostego, Steuben and Yates counties.

Many residents in these counties were forced to evacuate their homes while severe weather caused major flooding, destroyed property and damaged infrastructure.

The damage to infrastructure alone totaled about $28 million.

Cities and towns in 11 counties across Upstate New York were devastated by severe flooding earlier this year, and this disaster declaration will enable them to get the funds they still need to recover, Senator Schumer said in a statement.

A State of Emergency was declared on May 14 for some counties across New York after severe storms caused flooding May 13, 15 and 16. Power lines were knocked down and highways were damaged.

Communities across Upstate New York sustained damage after severe storms washed away roads and flooded homes and main street businesses, Senator Gillibrand said in a statement. This federal assistance will help jump start recovery efforts across New York and provide impacted communities with the resources they need to get back on their feet.

Advertise with us!


Washington Times