Six named to Rochester Music Hall of Fame class of 2017

Rochester, N.Y. (WHAM) - The class of 2017 was announced Wednesday for the Rochester Music Hall of Fame.

Samuel Adler, Joe Beard, Gary Lewis, Uncle Roger McCall, Greg Sullivan and the Penny Arcade, and Lewis Soloff were all named inductees.

Here are the brief resumes for each inductee, according to the Hall of Fame:

  • Samuel Adler – Celebrated classical composer and Eastman School of Music professor of composition from 1966 to 1995.
  • Joe Beard – Revered blues guitarist and vocalist and member of Son of House band.
  • Gary Lewis – 1960s hitmaker with Gary lewis and the Playboys, topping the charts with eight gold singles and 17 Top 40 hits.
  • Uncle Roger McCall – Pioneer radio DJ and supporter of Rochester’s local music scene as host of “Homegrown” radio show.
  • Lewis Soloff – Grammy Award-winning trumpeter for Blood Sweat and Tears.
  • Greg Sullivan and The Penny Arcade – Legendary supporter of local music scene and owner of The Penny Arcade, one of Rochester’s most revered music club.

Last year's inductees included Wendy O. Williams of The Plasmatics; James Rado, creator of the musical "Hair", Pee Wee Ellis, saxophonist and musical director for Van Morrison and James Brown; The Rustix, a Rochester-born soul group; vibraphonist Joe Locke; and composer and Eastman School of Music director Howard Hanson.

For more on the ceremony and the Rochester Music Hall of Fame, click here.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off